For the latest updates and information regarding COVID-19 (Coronavirus), please reference the Georgia Department of Health's website. To learn more about Bryan County closures, cancellations and postponements, please review our Media Release page.

Board of Assessors

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Board of Assessors is responsible for determining what property in the county is subject to taxation and for requiring its proper return. The Board examines and corrects errors in all real and personal property county tax returns. The Board must see that all property in the county is returned for taxes at fair valuation and that valuation between individual taxpayers is fairly equalized so that each taxpayer only pays his or her proportionate share of taxes. The Board of Assessors consists of at least three members, but may have up to five, and is appointed by the county governing authority. The assessors shall be appointed for terms of six years.

 "Our board is independent of the County Commissioner's Office, the Tax Commissioner's Office, and the Board of Education. This board does not set tax millage rates nor collect taxes.We are here to serve the public, ensuring that the tax burden is distributed fairly throughout our county. We are required to value property uniformly, as close to "Fair Market Value" as possible, all the while making certain that our mass appraisal property valuations conform to Georgia State law. Should you have any questions concerning our office or its operations, please do not hesitate to contact us."

Matt Owens, Chairman

Robert Floyd, Vice-Chairman

Thomas Haynes, Member

Kenneth Tyler, Member