Marriage License Requirements
IMPORTANT: Once completed, your application will remain on file for 10 days. Both Applicants will be required to APPEAR IN PERSON and provide photo identification and proof of age prior to a license being issued.
The fee for a marriage license is $77.00 without premarital counseling or $37.00 with premarital counseling. We accept cash, check or money order payable to Bryan County Probate Court, and debit or credit cards. There is a small convenience fee for debit and credit cards. Marriage License are issued between the hours of 8:15 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday excluding Holidays.
If either of the applicants is a resident of the State of Georgia, the marriage license may be obtained from the Probate Court in any county in the State. It is not required that the license be obtained from the county of the legal residence of either applicant. If neither applicant is a resident of the State of Georgia, the license must be obtained from the Probate Court in the county in which the ceremony is to be performed.
As of July 1,2003, premarital blood tests are no longer required under Georgia law.
Effective July 1, 2019 HB 228 Raises Minimum Age for Marriage to 17 and Requires a 17 year old to be Emancipated in order to marry.
This bill prohibits anyone under the age of 17 from getting a marriage license. It removes the requirement of parental consent, but requires documentary proof that applicant was emancipated by operation of law or pursuant to a petition filed with the Juvenile Court. If the emancipation was pursuant to a petition filed in Juvenile Court, a certified copy of the order shall be provided, at least 15 days shall have passed since such emancipation, the older party to the marriage shall not be more than four years older than the younger party, and the parties must submit a certificate of completion of premarital education as provided in O.C.G.A. §19-3-30.1.
This bill also amended O.C.G.A. §19-3-30.1 concerning premarital education. If either one of the parties is 17 years old, the person providing the premarital education, shall be a professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist who is licensed.
Proof of Age
O.C.G.A. §19-3-36 is also amended concerning proof of age. All applicants must provide documentary evidence of proof of age. Language about the judge having personal knowledge of age and the party appearing to be over the age of 25 was removed. O.C.G.A.§19-3-41.1 was added concerning a fact sheet produced by The Department of Public Health. Said fact sheet shall be distributed by premarital education providers.
O.C.G.A. §19-3-43 is amended to state that these age limitations will not apply to a lawful marriage solemnized in another state or country prior to residing in Georgia, but parties residing in this state may not evade the age limitations by going to another state to be married.
Proof of Dissolution Of Prior Marriage:
If either applicant has been previously married and the marriage was dissolved by divorce or annulment, a copy of the decree of divorce or annulment must be presented at the time of application. (Applicants who have been married and divorced more than once need only provide a certified copy of the decree dissolving the last previous marriage.)
Getting Married at the Courthouse:
The Judge of the Probate Court does not perform wedding ceremonies.